Writing With Intention

Abby Jaquint
3 min readOct 23, 2019

Finding your “why” reason.

Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

When I write, especially when I write first drafts, I’m used to spitting out whatever comes to mind, and I don’t often plan exactly what I’m going to say.

I have the concept, an abstract idea of what might make it to the page, though it’s nothing concrete.

But I always have my intentions set.

And I don’t just mean intentions for the specific piece I’m writing. I mean for my day, for my work as a whole, and then for what I’m currently working on.

Let’s get down to the base of this whole thing.

Intentions: What Are They?

I’ve had intentions described best to me as the “why” reason for my work. These “why” reasons can be small, or they can be applied to a bigger goal.

Why am I writing this article? Why am I going to the gym three times a week? Why am I going to wake up early in the morning?

You can always do something just to be doing something, but everything seems so much clearer and you feel more productive if you have a why. While I definitely apply this to most things in life, I tend to do it the most with my writing.

Intentional Writing

--

--

Abby Jaquint

Novelist. 24. I write about writing and productivity. Check me out on Amazon or Barnes and Noble!