Why You Shouldn’t be Afraid to Write Multiple Drafts

Abby Jaquint
3 min readSep 28, 2019
Photo by John-Mark Smith on Unsplash

I’m currently in the process of publishing my second novel, which I firmly believe to be some of my best work.

Was it completed after my first draft? Of course not.

My second? Nope.

Third? Try again.

Fourth? Warmer.

Yes, you’ve guessed it. I have written this novel completely over five times.

Which, truly, isn’t a lot compared to some of the numbers I’ve seen. However, I’ve come across people and articles that swear by the fact that they can edit their first draft a couple of times over and be done with it. And for many people, this works. But I’m here to teach you about the art of doing things again.

The First Draft

This doesn’t just apply to novels. Novels and short stories are where I use this technique the most, but that’s not to say that I don’t use it in other places like here on Medium.

The first draft is best written in three ways:

  1. Without stopping
  2. Without editing
  3. Without remorse

Without Stopping

This doesn’t mean to write your first draft in one go if you’re working on a lengthier piece. This means…

--

--

Abby Jaquint

Novelist. 24. I write about writing and productivity. Check me out on Amazon or Barnes and Noble!