Why Genuine Love Matters When Writing

Abby Jaquint
4 min readSep 30, 2019
Photo by Alexandre Crousette on Unsplash

When I wrote what I considered to be my first “novel,” I adored it. I wanted the entire world to read it, and I wanted to get it out as quickly as possible.

I have since come to realize that it was horrible, with no plot, no concrete character development, nothing but overdone tropes, and genuinely had no memorable moments, but I’ll say this was due to my young age and general inexperience.

And honestly? I’m okay with that. Because I know I loved it, and I still do.

Loving the Art

Argue with me if you would like, but I strongly believe that in order to be a capital ‘W’ Writer, you have to love it. Well, maybe you don’t have to love everything you write to be a writer, but it certainly helps. No arguing on that one.

If writing is your full-time job, or hell, a fun pass time you have, then you should love what you do, especially if it’s how you make a living. There’s nothing more fulfilling than finally covering a blank page with stories you’ve created, everything you’ve envisioned falling out onto that document. And you should love every second of it.

Even if you hate the job you’re in. If you don’t adore the writing you’re working on. You should still. Love. To. Write.

--

--

Abby Jaquint

Novelist. 24. I write about writing and productivity. Check me out on Amazon or Barnes and Noble!