I Was Assaulted, and All I Could Think About Was How I Would Do My Laundry

Abby Jaquint
7 min readJun 7, 2024

CW for SA.

This story was originally published on my Substack.

Hello!

It’s Abby.

I write, read, and build miniatures.

To be honest with you, I started this newsletter because I’m moving in exactly three days.

My previous home was lovely. Pink walls, built-in bookshelves, funky tiling on the ceiling (and to think I rented it that way!), and the loveliest neighborhood on the planet.

I lived there for almost two years until I was sexually assaulted in my backyard, right beside my garage.

“The Writing Room” Photo by me.

The house had everything I wanted. I spent most of my days writing and creating in what I had dubbed “The Writing Room,” otherwise known as my enclosed porch. It had a beautiful view of the backyard and was always warm.

After the assault at the end of April, I no longer liked the writing room, and it quickly became filled with dust and untouched projects.

I then stopped liking my kitchen and my bathroom. Dishes piled up in my sink, and I couldn’t get myself to brush my teeth or shower.

I thought I could keep the enthusiasm I’d held for so long when it came to my bedroom, and I spent two…

--

--

Abby Jaquint

Novelist. 24. I write about writing and productivity. Check me out on Amazon or Barnes and Noble!