Avoiding a NaNoWriMo Plateau

Abby Jaquint
3 min readNov 7, 2019
Photo by jeshoots on Unsplash

As of right now, the minute I’m writing this article, it is day seven of NaNoWriMo.

That, for me and you, is (hopefully) seven straight days of writing nearly 2,000 words.

I’ve managed to keep up with my writing every day so far, and maybe you have too, which we should always be proud of ourselves for.

But I have a question for you.

Have you hit a plateau in your writing?

I’m well aware that it’s hardly been a week, but I’ve gotten stuck more times than I’d care to admit, and I think some of you might have this issue as well.

So how can we avoid this problem? How can we push through our absolute worst days to continue to reach our goals?

Get It All Out There

If you’re a perfectionist, someone who has to continuously go back and change what you’ve written, then NaNoWriMo might be a bit of a struggle for you.

You’re going to have to change that.

If you’re stuck staring at a blank page and wondering how you’re supposed to write this many words this fast, then my first piece of advice is to get it all out there. Write anything that comes to mind. And I mean it. Literally anything.

--

--

Abby Jaquint

Novelist. 24. I write about writing and productivity. Check me out on Amazon or Barnes and Noble!