An Article I’ve Never Written

Abby Jaquint
3 min readFeb 25, 2020
Photo by NordWood Themes on Unsplash

I wrote an article.

Well, I did not publish the article in question, but I wrote it.

And I hated it.

I won’t tell you what it was supposed to be about, because that isn’t the point, but I will tell you why I hated it.

I was writing it because I thought I had to. It had been a while, I hadn’t been producing content, and I hadn’t written. Therefore, this article had to be written, and there was nothing I could do about it. That’s what I hated about it.

I had started writing this article after two months of not writing anything. And I mean anything. My WIP was not touched in these two months. I wasn’t writing articles as frequently as I had been, since I wasn’t writing them at all, and I had not so much as written a note on my phone.

I referred to this as a “break.”

When asked what I was working on, I would tell people, “Oh, I’m on a bit of a writing break.”

Which was true, technically. I was on a break. But this was not voluntary, I’d say. This was a struggle.

I had never experienced writer’s block. I think sometimes you get stuck, and it can be tougher than other times to move on, but I was never sure about the realness of writer’s block.

--

--

Abby Jaquint

Novelist. 24. I write about writing and productivity. Check me out on Amazon or Barnes and Noble!